BWA Logo Bar AWGB link FaceBook link

Berkshire Woodturners run a variety of competitions to challenge members, and encourage and inspire them to improve their design skills and turning ability

Competitions at Berkshire Woodturners

Annual Competitions

There are two main competitions run within Berkshire Woodturners. The "Turner of the Year" and the "Keith Sherwood Trophy". The rules for these two competitions are described below.

Additional Competitions

Additional competitions might be run as part of the Christmas Special or the Club Open Evening. These will generally be appropriately themed items which will be turned on the night generally against the clock. Judging is usually done by consensus among the members present.

Turner of the Year Rules

1. The competition is open to all members of the association.

2016 beginners turner of the year2.There will be two categories in the competition: OPEN, this can be any item turned by the member. THEME, the particular theme for each month will be determined by the committee at the start of the year. The idea of the prescribed theme is to encourage members to try techniques, perhaps, outside their experience or comfort zone and thus improve their versatility. The Open competition allows the member free rein to turn anything that takes their fancy, there is no restriction in terms of wood, shape, size or finish. Only ONE item can be entered in EACH of the two categories. Any item submitted for a competition in either the theme or open categories cannot be entered again in any future competition apart from the Keith Sherwood trophy.

3. The membership is organised into three standards, Beginners, Advanced and Master.

New members must provide evidence of their work (at least two items) to be inspected by a panel of committee members so that the appropriate entry level can be determined.

4. Each competition category will be judged in these three standards.

2016 advanced turner of the year5. The main demonstrator of the meeting will be invited to judge the competition. Failing this a panel of experienced members of the association will be asked to perform this task.

6. Entries will be judged and awarded first, second, third, fourth or fifth places. If the standard of the entries are deemed not to warrant a first category the judges can issue a second or third place as felt appropriate. This will apply in particular for categories with only one or two entries

7. Competition points will be allocated 10 for first, 9 for second, down to 6 for fifth place. All other entries will automatically receive 4 points.

8. Progress from the Beginners to Advanced, and Advanced to Master will be made at the end of the current year if the individual member has accrued a total in excess of 70 points IN THE THEME CATEGORY ONLY. In the following January all Beginners, Advanced and Masters points will revert to zero.

2016 master turner of the year9. For the MASTER category the theme points will be continually aggregated as a matter of interest only.

10. There will be an annual Turner of the Year award. A trophy will be awarded to the member accruing the highest total number of points from BOTH the theme and open categories of the competitions. Some form of recognition for all top performers in the individual Theme categories will also be made.

11. The Turner of the Year will receive a small cash prize of value determined by the committee with regard to the current financial situation.

12. In the event of a draw in the Turner of the Year the award will be conjoint, each recipient holding the trophy for a six month period.

13. The preceding rules may be modified at any time at the discretion of the committee.

Keith Sherwood Trophy Rules

2016 keith sherwood winner 1. The competition is open to all members of the Association.

2. There is only one winner and only one prize.

3. Members may enter any one item they have turned. This can include an item entered into the Turner of the Month Competition

4. Each item entered will be displayed within its relevant skill category.

5. Entries will be judged by those members present. Each member, including those that have entered the competition, will have one vote in each category.

6. The votes will be weighted based on the number of entries in each category. Once the weighting has been taken into account, the Keith Sherwood Trophy will be awarded to the member who turned the item that achieved the most votes.

7. The preceding rules may be modified at any time at the discretion of the committee.

Turner of the Year

Current Standings

Up to and including August 2017 competiton results.


Jack Johnson5379
Stephen Evans3277
Rob Legge2846
Keith Mosley1746
Leigh Pawson1731
Malcolm Cleaver1828
Matt Petch927
Peter Brooks2525
Lee Forrest024
Chris Hamblin1019
Les Alexander1818
Mike Dyer1616
Gerry Pascal010
Justyn Fowler09
John Underwood88


Chris Cox3885
Viv Mitchell3669
Colin Burge3768
David Brownhill036
Keith Hufton1533
David Blundell918
Sid Dodd713
Peter Rickards09


Peter Osborn78151
Harvey Grimwood3565
Tony Taylor3365
Terry Stephens4252
Jason Taylor935
Charlie Hayes2433

competion judgingl